Plaintiffs with Lawsuits in the State of Alabama have the option of getting a loan against their lawsuit. Direct Legal Funding can extend cash advances on lawsuits on the following cases in Alabama. Car Accidents, Jones Act, medical malpractice cases, personal injury claims, labor law cases, tractor trailer accidents , burn victims, verdicts on appeal, workers compensation, slip and fall cases, negligence cases, premise liability cases, auto accidents, settled cases and more.
While Direct Legal Funding extends cash on lawsuits for all of the above types of cases,
the most common type of case in Alabama for a lawsuit loan is an auto accident.
All drivers in the State of Alabama must be covered by liability insurance or an acceptable alternative i.e. motor vehicle liability bond or deposit of cash.
– Alabama requires that driver’s provide proof of insurance at time of registration.
– Proof of insurance is required at the time of accidents.
– You must carry proof of insurance at all times while in a vehicle.
– In the state of Alabama, you must carry minimum liability coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily injury to one person, $50,000 for all bodily injuries, and at least $25,000 for property damage. Alabama raised its limits in 2008 from 20/40/10 to 25/50/25. The new law went into effect on August 30, 2008. The good news if you a victim of the negligence of another driver is that in Alabama at least 25,000 of coverage will be available to compensate you for the damages you have suffered.
Alabama does not require Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage.
Alabama is a Tort state. This means that the driver who is at fault in the accident must pay the victims medical expenses and the victim has the ability to file a court claim against the driver found to be responsible for the accident for any additional and related damages including pain and suffering and lost wages. Seeking damages in the State of Alabama in a car accident settlement refers to the monetary compensation sought for bodily injury, damage to the vehicle (or other property) as a result of the accident, the medical costs incurred by the plaintiff, emotional trauma and loss of wages as a result of the car accident. Alabama is a fault state, which means that you will get compensation only if your liability is zero. For this reason it is very important that a police report showing clear liability is obtained at the scene of an auto accident. If a jury rules that you are at fault even 1 percent, then you will get nothing. In Alabama, to claim punitive damages, the plaintiff has to prove the defendant’s negligence or fault when driving and then prove damages. In this state, if you wish to claim future pain and suffering or future lost wages, you may need an expert to testify on your behalf. In Alabama there is no “threshold” for serious injury. In the state of Alabama there is no ceiling on compensatory damages. Alabama has a death statute that entitles one to punitive damages should a fatality occur in an accident. The state does not have a threshold for serious injury.